Cub Scouts

What’s a Cub Scout?

Cubs is for boys and girls aged from 8 to 1o years. There are lots of fun activities that entertain and teach the youth the basic skills of life.

The meetings are full of games, craft, activities and teaching ensuring all round developmental path for youth of this age under the guidance of trained leaders.  To join or get more information contact the Group Leader or Akela (Cub Scout Leader).


Tuesday 7:00 pm to 8:30 pm and the occasional weekend.  Want to see what the Cubs are up to?  Have a look at their calendar.


Cubs major badges are called Boomberang badges, which is designed to be earned in a progressive manner as their age increases.  There are three levels of Boomerang:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold

You can found out about the badge placement here.

Achievement badges, which are designed to give the youth a set of challenges (36 in total) that can be done as an individual and in their own time.  There are two levels for each badge.

Special interest badges, which badges for very specific interest points, these can be for hiking and camping.

Leadership badges.  These are designed for those Cubs showing interest in becoming a Leader of the Pack as a Sixer or as a Second.

Grey wolf badge.  This is the highest award to be earned in the Cub Scout Section and is an extension for those Cubs who have the Gold Boomerang and still have some time before they progress to the Scout section.

Cub Scout Uniform

The Uniform consists of:

  • Group scarf (presented from the Group)
  • Cub Scout shirt (blue with yellow inset)
  • Scout belt (blue webbing)
  • Stone coloured pants
  • Black or brown leather shoes

Where can I get the uniform?

You can obtain these online form The Scout Shop, or from the Port Kembla Scout Shop.

Scout Law and Promise

Scout Law Scout Promise